Sam Telfer, EPLGA Board President

Collectively, the Members represent the people of Eyre Peninsula, in the Western part of South Australia. The total permanent population of the region, according to the ABS 2016 census, is 55,919. The two cities, Whyalla in the NE and Port Lincoln in the S, contain 35,892 permanent residents.

Whyalla has a rich history as a manufacturing city with steelworks and mining being the premier industries. It is now a premier regional centre for essential services, retail and health. Port Lincoln, Thevenard and Whyalla are major ports for the region.

Predominantly, the rest of the region has been sustained by cereal farming and other agriculture as well as wildcatch fishing industries; especially tuna. In more recent years, aquaculture development has been extensive and tuna are now farmed for export, as are oysters and a variety of other shell and finfish species. Other economic drivers include tourism, mining and the service sector.


 Ceduna  Perry Will (Mayor)  Ian Bergmann (Deputy Mayor)
 Cleve  Phil Cameron (Mayor)  Robert Quinn (Deputy Mayor)
 Elliston  Malcolm Hancock (Mayor)  Peter Hitchcock (Deputy Mayor)
 Franklin Harbour  Robert Walsh (Mayor)  Daven Wagner (Deputy  Mayor)
 Kimba  Dean Johnson (Mayor)  Megan Lienert (Deputy Mayor)
 Lower Eyre Peninsula  Jo-Anne Quigley (Mayor)  Peter Mitchell (Deputy Mayor)
 Port Lincoln  Brad Flaherty (Mayor)  Faye Davis (Deputy Mayor)
 Streaky Bay  Travis Barber (Mayor)  Philip Wheaton (Deputy  Mayor)
 Tumby Bay  Sam Telfer (Mayor)  Robert Randall (Deputy Mayor)
 Whyalla  Clare McLaughlin (Mayor)  Rick Santucci (Deputy  Mayor)
 Wudinna  Eleanor Scholz (Mayor)  Ned Luscombe (Deputy Mayor)



Whyalla - Hummock Hill Museum

Whyalla – Hummock Hill Museum